Please note: In order to keep Hive up to date and provide users with the best features, we are no longer able to fully support Internet Explorer. The site is still available to you, however some sections of the site may appear broken. We would encourage you to move to a more modern browser like Firefox, Edge or Chrome in order to experience the site fully.

Brahms: The Four Symphonies, Paperback / softback Book

Brahms: The Four Symphonies Paperback / softback

Part of the Yale Music Masterworks series

Paperback / softback


This book is the definitive guide to Johannes Brahms's four symphonies.

It presents an engaging and thorough treatment of the genesis, structure, reception, and performance history of these internationally admired and frequently performed works.

Walter Frisch provides a sensitive analytical commentary on the symphonies as well as a consideration of their place within Brahms's oeuvre, within the symphonic repertory of his day, and within the broader musical culture of nineteenth-century Germany and Austria.

Frisch also pays particular attention to the evolution of performance style since Brahms's symphonies were first heard. The book begins with an investigation of the different ideologies of the symphony in the decades leading up to Brahms's First.

Brahms's early development as a composer is also examined.

Frisch then devotes a detailed chapter to each of the four symphonies, including an in-depth analysis of each movement.

A separate chapter treats the reception of Brahms's symphonies, and the book concludes with a history of the performances of the symphonies in the concert hall and in early recordings.




Free Home Delivery

on all orders

Pick up orders

from local bookshops


Also in the Yale Music Masterworks series  |  View all