Supporting your high street Find out how »
Basket Image


Songs of Love and Horror : Collected Lyrics of Will Oldham, Hardback Book

Songs of Love and Horror : Collected Lyrics of Will Oldham Hardback


As a performer, songwriter and actor, Will Oldham has carved a singular path through the worlds of indie folk and cinema.

Now the critically acclaimed, enigmatic artist presents his life's work: the lyrics to more than two hundred songs spanning the 1980s to the present, each with annotations that impart new meaning to his music. Oldham's aphoristic meditations-on death, patience and turning carelessness into a virtue-are, like his lyrics, profound, earthy and often funny.

They reveal flashes of Oldham's philosophy, the sources and circumstances that inspired his lyrics and the literary ambition of his songwriting.

Separated from their aural form, Oldham's lyrics become a new kind of poetry-candid, awkward and wise-with influences as diverse as Rabindranath Tagore and The Mekons. A book that will delight his longtime fans and inspire young songwriters, Songs of Love and Horror reveals an artist who has captured extraordinary poetry in music despite being "a stranger among my own language".


  • Format: Hardback
  • Pages: 304 pages, 2-color throughout
  • Publisher: WW Norton & Co
  • Publication Date:
  • Category: Punk, New Wave & Indie
  • ISBN: 9780393651201



Free Home Delivery

on all orders

Pick up orders

from local bookshops