Please note: In order to keep Hive up to date and provide users with the best features, we are no longer able to fully support Internet Explorer. The site is still available to you, however some sections of the site may appear broken. We would encourage you to move to a more modern browser like Firefox, Edge or Chrome in order to experience the site fully.

The True Queen, Paperback / softback Book

The True Queen Paperback / softback

Part of the Sorcerer to the Crown novels series

Paperback / softback


A sparkling magical adventure from a Hugo Award-winning author.

In Zen Cho's The True Queen we travel to Regency London, Fairyland and an enchanted island.

Sisters are separated, plots thicken and there's a new contender for the throne of Fairy. ‘A sheer delight from beginning to end' – Samantha Shannon, author of The Bone Season. Fairyland’s future lies in doubt . . . The enchanted island of Janda Baik, in the Malay Archipelago, has long been home to witches. And Muna and her sister Sakti wake on its shores under a curse, which has quite stolen away their memories.

Their only hope of salvation lies in distant Britain, where the Sorceress Royal runs a controversial academy for female magicians.

But the pair travel via the formidable Fairy Queen’s realm, where Sakti simply disappears. To save her sister, Muna must learn to navigate Regency London’s high society and trick the English into believing she’s a magical prodigy.

But when the Sorceress Royal’s friends become accidentally embroiled in a plot – involving the Fairy Queen’s contentious succession – Muna is drawn right in.

She must also find Sakti, break their curse and somehow stay out of trouble.

But if fairyland’s true queen does finally return, trouble may find her first . . . 'A joyous mash-up of Jane Austen and high fantasy’ – M.

R. Carey, author of The Girl with All the Gifts. This standalone adventure is set in the same world as Zen Cho's award-winning novel - The Sorcerer to the Crown.


Other Formats


Free Home Delivery

on all orders

Pick up orders

from local bookshops


Also in the Sorcerer to the Crown novels series  |  View all