logo
Supporting your high street Find out how »
Basket Image

Basket

Author of the Month

C J Sansom

C. J. Sansom was educated at Birmingham University, where he took a BA and then a PhD in history. After working in a variety of jobs, he retrained as a solicitor and practised in Sussex until becoming a full-time writer.

His first novel, Dissolution, was published in 2003, introducing us to his hugely popular detective, the hunchbacked lawyer Matthew Shardlake. Dark Fire followed in 2004, the first of Sansom’s novels to feature Shardlake’s assistant Jack Barak, for which he won the 2005 Crime Writers' Association Historical Dagger. Five further Shardlake novels followed: Sovereign (2006), Revelation (2008), Heartstone (2010), Lamentation (2014) and most recently, Tombland (2018).

C. J. Sansom has been highly commended by the Crime Writers’ Association’s Dagger in the Library Award for his Shardlake series, and several of the novels have been dramatized on BBC Radio 4.  

In addition to the beloved Shardlake novels, C. J. Sansom has also published two hugely successful standalone historical novels, Winter in Madrid (2006) and Dominion (2008), for which he was won the Sidewise Award for Alternate History.

Sansom now writes and lives in Sussex.

Now in Paperback

Tombland - C. J. Sansom

Tudor England is brought vividly to life in Tombland, the seventh novel in C.

J. Sansom's number one bestselling Shardlake series, for fans of Hilary Mantel and Philippa Gregory. *The Sunday Times Number One Bestseller*Summer, 1549. Two years after the death of Henry VIII, England is sliding into chaos . . . The nominal king, Edward VI, is eleven years old. His uncle Edward Seymour, Duke of...

£8.99

£6.89

Top Books from C J Cansom   |  View All

£8.99

£7.69

£8.99

£7.69

£8.99

£7.69

£8.99

£7.69