Cake Shop in the Garden, Paperback
5 out of 5 (1 rating)


'I'm a Carole Matthews addict!' Mary Berry The scrumptious Cake Shop in the Garden is Carole Matthews' bestselling book ever - and it comes with the Queen of Baking's seal of approval!

Perfect for fans of Milly Johnson and Jill Mansell. Fay Merryweather runs her cake shop from her beautiful garden.

She whips up airy sponges and scrumptious scones, while her customers enjoy the lovely blossoms and gorgeous blooms.

Looking after the cake shop, the garden and her cantankerous mother means Fay is always busy but she accepts her responsibilities because if she doesn't do all this, who will? Then Danny Wilde walks into her life and makes Fay question every decision she's ever made. When a sudden tragedy strikes, Fay's entire world is thrown off balance even further and she doesn't know which way to turn.

Can Fay find the strength to make a life-changing decision - even if it means giving up the thing she loves the most?

Life, love and family are about to collide in The Cake Shop in the Garden.


  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 448 pages
  • Publisher: Little, Brown Book Group
  • Publication Date:
  • Category: Romance
  • ISBN: 9780751552157



Free Home Delivery

on all orders

Pick up orders

from local bookshops


Showing 1 - 1 of 1 reviews.

Review by

Fay Merryweather runs Fay's Cakes from her family home by the canal in Milton Keynes. She also sells cakes from her late father's beloved narrowboat, The Maid of Merryweather. Ably helped by her rude and abrupt, but fiercely loyal, Latvian assistant, Lija, she also looks after her mother, who just won't get out of bed. Fay is basically a doormat but a lovely one, in a relationship with the very steady, Anthony. That is, until the gorgeous Danny Wilde glides up on his narrowboat and rocks Fay's world.This is the first Carole Matthews book I have read in a long time but the title of this book made me want to read it so much and I absolutely loved it. It's certainly made me want to read another by this author. Fay is a lovely character and I wanted to shake her when she was letting people walk all over her. And I can certainly understand what she saw in the young and handsome Danny. Probably my favourite character was Lija, I just loved her attitude. This book made me smile and also feel the injustice of Fay's life. And who could resist such a wonderful setting. I found myself imagining the tables and chairs by the canal with gorgeous cakes on them. Fabulous book - couldn't put it down.

Also by Carole Matthews   |  View all