Gretel and the Dark, Hardback
4 out of 5 (3 ratings)

Description

Gretel and the Dark is Eliza Granville's dazzling novel of darkness, evil - and hope.

For fans of Markus Zusak's The Book Thief and Guillermo del Toro's Pan's Labyrinth.

Vienna, 1899. Josef Breuer - celebrated psychoanalyst - is about to encounter his strangest case yet.

Found by the lunatic asylum, thin, head shaved, she claims to have no name, no feelings - to be, in fact, not even human.

Intrigued, Breuer determines to fathom the roots of her disturbance.

Years later, in Germany, we meet Krysta. Krysta's Papa is busy working in the infirmary with the 'animal people', so little Krysta plays alone, lost in the stories of Hansel and Gretel, the Pied Piper, and more. And when everything changes and the real world around her becomes as frightening as any fairy tale, Krysta finds that her imagination holds powers beyond what she could have ever guessed...Eliza Granville was born in Worcestershire and currently lives in France.

She has had a life-long fascination with the enduring quality of fairytales and their symbolism, and the idea for Gretel and the Dark was sparked when she became interested in the emphasis placed on these stories during the Third Reich.

Information

£14.99

£11.25

 
Free Home Delivery

on all orders

 
Pick up orders

from local bookshops

Reviews

Showing 1 - 3 of 3 reviews.

Review by
4

Heartbreaking. A psychological, twisting story where fairytales and history are used to highlight the horrors of a young girls life.

Review by
4

Heartbreaking. A psychological, twisting story where fairytales and history are used to highlight the horrors of a young girls life.

Review by
4

I thought this book was pretty much okay, a 3 star book until I got to the ending. The ending bumped it up. This is one of those books that are worth reading until the last page. So, so good. There is some gruesomeness in the book (But it takes place in WWII so I think that's to be expected), and some of it is hard to read, but overall it is one that will keep you thinking and you'll blink at the end and wonder what you had just read. I definitely recommend this book. 4.5 out of 5 stars. Brilliant.

Also by Eliza Granville