When She Woke, Paperback
3 out of 5 (1 rating)


Hannah Payne is a RED. Her crime: MURDER. And her victim, says the state of Texas, was her unborn child.

Lying on a table in a bare room, covered by only a paper gown, Hannah awakens to a nightmare.

Cameras broadcast her every move to millions at home, for whom observing new Chromes - criminals whose skin has been genetically altered to match the class of their crime - is a sinister form of entertainment.

Hannah refuses to reveal the identity of her father.

But cast back into a world that has marked her for life, how far will she go to protect the man she loves?

An enthralling and chilling novel from the author of MUDBOUND, for fans of THE HANDMAID'S TALE and THE SCARLET LETTER.




Free Home Delivery

on all orders

Pick up orders

from local bookshops


Showing 1 - 1 of 1 reviews.

Review by

I almost didn't read this book because of the many terrible reviews written about it, but I'm glad I did.The story is fast paced, and interesting. The religion aspect of it put a lot of readers off but I found that it really added to the story and the dystopian world within it.The idea of chroming was such an intriguing idea, and the journey Hannah took was inspiring and ultimately the right path for her.A lot of complex issues are explored in this book like abortion and it does make you question the previous beliefs you had.A good book that interested me but I wouldn't read it again.

Also by Hillary Jordan   |  View all





Item not Available