American Street, Hardback Book

Description

American Street is an evocative and powerful coming-of-age story perfect for fans of Everything, Everything; Bone Gap; and All American Boys.

In this stunning debut novel, Pushcart-nominated author Ibi Zoboi draws on her own experience as a young Haitian immigrant, infusing this lyrical exploration of America with magical realism and vodou culture.

On the corner of American Street and Joy Road, Fabiola Toussaint thought she would finally find une belle vie-a good life.

But after they leave Port-au-Prince, Haiti, Fabiola's mother is detained by U.S. immigration, leaving Fabiola to navigate her loud American cousins, Chantal, Donna, and Princess; the grittiness of Detroit's west side; a new school; and a surprising romance, all on her own.

Just as she finds her footing in this strange new world, a dangerous proposition presents itself, and Fabiola soon realizes that freedom comes at a cost.

Trapped at the crossroads of an impossible choice, will she pay the price for the American dream?

Information

  • Format: Hardback
  • Pages: 336 pages
  • Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers Inc
  • Publication Date:
  • Category: Social issues (Children's/YA)
  • ISBN: 9780062473042

Other Formats

£10.99

£9.49

 
Free Home Delivery

on all orders

 
Pick up orders

from local bookshops

Also by Ibi Zoboi