Sidney Chambers and the Persistence of Love, Hardback Book

Sidney Chambers and the Persistence of Love Hardback

Part of the Grantchester series

Description

The sixth book in the James Runcie's much-loved series, adapted for ITV's Grantchester which stars James Norton as Sidney Chambers.

Perfect for fans of M. C. Beaton. It is May 1971 and the Cambridgeshire countryside is bursting into summer.

Archdeacon Sidney Chambers is walking in a bluebell wood with his daughter Anna and their ageing Labrador Byron when they stumble upon a body.

Plunged into another murder investigation, Sidney discovers a world of hippies and psychedelic plants, where permissive behaviour seems to hide something darker.

This is the first of many disturbing secrets that Sidney unearths beneath the tranquil surface of the diocese: a celebrated photographer is accused of rape; a priceless religious text vanishes from a Cambridge college; the authentication of a lost masterpiece proves a slippery business; and Sidney's own nephew goes missing.

Endeavouring to fit in his clerical duties around sleuthing, Sidney continues to reflect on the divine mysteries of love, life and faith, while wrestling with the earthly problems of parish scandals, a progressive new secretary, the challenges of parenthood, and a great loss.

Information

  • Format: Hardback
  • Pages: 368 pages
  • Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
  • Publication Date:
  • Category: Crime & mystery
  • ISBN: 9781408879023

Other Formats

Save 24%

£14.99

£11.39

 
Free Home Delivery

on all orders

 
Pick up orders

from local bookshops