Thirteen Reasons Why, Paperback
4 out of 5 (8 ratings)


"Thirteen Reasons Why" by Jay Asher is a phenomenal "New York Times" number one bestseller.

It tackles the aftermath of teen suicide from the critically acclaimed young adult author Jay Asher - perfect for fans of John Green's "The Fault in Our Stars".

You can't stop the future. You can't rewind the past. The only way to learn the secret to press play.

Clay Jensen returns home to find a strange package with his name on it.

Inside he discovers several cassette tapes recorded by Hannah Baker - his classmate and first love - who committed suicide.

Hannah's voice explains there are thirteen reasons why she killed herself and Clay is one of them.

If he listens, he'll find out why. All through the night, Clay keeps listening - and what he discovers changes his life ...Forever.

Bestselling US author Jay Asher had the idea for his debut young adult novel "Thirteen Reasons Why" at a museum.

Whilst taking an audio tour, he was struck by the eeriness of the voice in his ear - a woman who described everything he was looking at but wasn't there.


  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 304 pages
  • Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd
  • Publication Date:
  • Category: General
  • ISBN: 9780141328294



Free Home Delivery

on all orders

Pick up orders

from local bookshops


Showing 1 - 5 of 8 reviews.

  Previous  |  Next

Review by

A powerful young adult book about teen suicide. Hannah records 13 tapes describing the events that lead up to her suicide, and the people that she sees as somehow responsible. When the novel starts, Hannah is already dead, and the narrator, Clay, receives a mysterious package of tapes in the mail. We see him listening to the tapes and reacting to them -- hearing about things he only vaguely knew about, knowing that he's powerless to change the end of the story. Hearing both Hannah's voice and Clay's responses starkly highlights the 'if only' at the core of the tragedy of suicide, and yet shows how difficult it can be to act differently without the benefits of hindsight. Ultimately, we are challenged to think more about the impact of our actions on other people.

Review by

Clay Jensen returns home from school to find a mysterious box with his name on it lying on his porch. Inside he discovers several cassette tapes recorded by Hannah Baker--his classmate and crush--who committed suicide two weeks earlier. On tape, Hannah explains that there are thirteen reasons why she decided to end her life. Clay is one of them. If he listens, he'll find out how he made the list.This was a book I noticed my little sister reading and grew instantly curious about, granted its not the most uplifting of books (the best books ussually, rarely are), I found myself instantly drawn into it from start to finish.The style of the writing is dramatic and works on a system of Clay and Hannah's duel narratives, the past and the present. The concept of the tapes itself is twisted genius--Hannah Baker shifts in our eyes from vengeful ice queen, to tragic heroine to desperate victim effotlessly. The chill her thirteen 'chosen ones' must feel from listening to the tapes is felt in ice cold shards instantly and painfully. The tapes are a punishment, an infliction that the people in her life have to bear like a cross--but they also implore these people to learn something and to change. As dour as this book is, it comes with a filling of justice and hope and thought provoking things to leave you with. There are a lot of these sorts of novels out at the moment, but nothing quite as refreshingly simple as this one. Read and breath it in. This is Jay Ashers first published novel, and hopefully not his last!

Review by

This is a great book. It was so good that I didn't want to finish it. Ever get that feeling or do you think I am totally mad? At the same time I couldn't put it down which was a bad thing because I was meant to be writing an english eassy. I think that it would be a good book to read as a class at school because it would make people more aware of what their actions and words might lead to. It was a great book and I think anyone would like it even if they don't like reading. Can't wait to read another book by this author any ideas would be great.

Review by

PLUS - * Interesting concept - a teenage girl who has committed suicide leaves a series of recorded messages for the people she feels contributed to her unjappiness.* A very valid overall message: that everything you say or do to other people has an effect on them, even if you think it is insignificant.MINUS - * I found it a bit difficult to keep track of who was narrating. We are partly listening to Hannahs tapes, and partly listening to Clay, one of the recipients. *Hannah didn't seem like a particularly sympathetic character, and her reasons for taking her own life seemed to be shallow - people spreading rumours, being misunderstood. Perhaps this is me looking at things from a too-adult point of views. I'm sure many of the Young Adults I work with would identify with Hannah and rate this as a good read. OVERALL - Disappointing. Could have been great, but instead I found the whole thing rather pedestrian in style, and worry a little that it brushes over the impact of suicide, which can't be a good thing in a book for teenagers. Yes, Hannah's peers are shocked, but what about her parents and those who truly loved her.

Review by

Hannah Baker is a high school student. Or she was, before she killed herself. There are thirteen reasons why she killed herself, and they are all people she knew at school.Before the act, Hannah prepares a series of audio tapes, a map of significant locations and a list of names. The tapes explain how each person on the list had a part in her decision and they are to be sent in turn to each person. The book follows Clay Jensen as he receives the tapes and tries to understand why Hannah died. This book really reiterates the nightmare of high school, and the cruelty that teenagers can sometimes exhibit. Each event that Hannah endures adds another straw to her back, building up to her eventual decision that her life has become unbearable and without redemption. Its art is in its demonstration that every person's action has a consequence, every throwaway comment has the power to hurt someone or something worse.

  Previous  |  Next

Also by Jay Asher   |  View all