Think of a Number, Paperback
4 out of 5 (1 rating)


"Think of a Number" is the chilling debut from John Verdon.

It begins with a letter...The letter contains a request - think of a number, any number - and a sealed envelope.

Inside the envelope is that number. When Dave Gurney, retired NYPD homicide detective, is contacted by an old college acquaintance about some startling letters he's been receiving, it is at first little more than a diverting but sinister puzzle.

Until the acquaintance is brutally killed. Suddenly Gurney finds himself in the middle of a murder investigation that makes no sense.

The killer seems to have known his victim intimately.

How else was he able to predict his victim's thoughts, even his actions?

How did he know his darkest secrets? The killer is smart and he is playing with the police.

Gurney needs to be smarter if he's going to catch him, but this seems only to be the beginning. And the killer alone knows where it will end. "Think of a Number" is the debut from John Verdon and is the first in a series starring the retired detective Dave Gurney. In the tradition of Harlan Coben and Linwood Barclay, John Verdon's unique high-concept plot and memorable cast of series characters will be a major hit with thriller fans.

Subsequent titles include "Let The Devil Sleep" and "Shut Your Eyes Tight".

Praise for John Verdon: "The best thriller I've read in a long, long time". (Tess Gerritsen). "Wow! Totally absorbing, brilliantly written. The best book I've read this year". ("The Sun"). John Verdon, a former Manhattan advertising executive, lives with his wife on a small hilltop in upstate New York.

His first two Dave Gurney novels are "Think of a Number" and "Shut Your Eyes Tight".


  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 512 pages
  • Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd
  • Publication Date:
  • Category: Thriller / suspense
  • ISBN: 9780141048703



Free Home Delivery

on all orders

Pick up orders

from local bookshops


Showing 1 - 1 of 1 reviews.

Review by

Good plot. Keeps you interested until the end - which is, of course, the main quality of a thriller. And smart too - which I don't see that often. On the downside, internal struggle of the main character, retired NYPD detective, is quite boring and way too long. If that aspect of the novel would be at least shorter the result would be excellent.