Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close, Paperback

Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close Paperback

4 out of 5 (15 ratings)


"Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close" is Jonathan Safran Foer's heartrending New York novel.

In a vase in a closet, a couple of years after his father died in 9/11, nine-year-old Oskar discovers a key...The key belonged to his father, he's sure of that.

But which of New York's 162 million locks does it open?

So begins a quest that takes Oskar - inventor, letter-writer and amateur detective - across New York's five boroughs and into the jumbled lives of friends, relatives and complete strangers.

He gets heavy boots, he gives himself little bruises and he inches ever nearer to the heart of a family mystery that stretches back fifty years.

But will it take him any closer to, or even further from, his lost father?

Moving, literary and innovative, perfect for fans of Lorrie Moore and Nicole Krauss, Jonathan Safran Foer's "Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close" was made into a major film starring Tom Hanks and Sandra Bullock, released in 2012.

Jonathan Safran Foer was born in 1977. He is the author of "Everything is Illuminated", which won the National Jewish Book Award and the Guardian First Book award, and "Eating Animals", and the editor of "A Convergence of Birds".


  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 368 pages, black & white illustrations, colour illustrations
  • Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd
  • Publication Date:
  • Category: Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)
  • ISBN: 9780141012698



Free Home Delivery

on all orders

Pick up orders

from local bookshops


Showing 1 - 5 of 15 reviews.

  Previous  |  Next

Review by

I loved this book so much it hurt.

Review by

This book was incredibly different and an extremely great read. Whenever I pick up a book of his or his wife Nicole Krausse (sp?) I know I;m going to find something incredible. I love the way the books are like art. They don't just write words...they want to stimulate you where the normal book doesn't. It's like a whole new way to reading. I loved it.

Review by

Ultimately I found this a depressing book; there were no happy endings, nor any sense of real hope or closure. Not for Oskar, his Mum or his grandparents. The only part to really raise my spirits was the personal letter sent at last to Oskar by Stephen Hawking. And I really wanted to know what was in the safety deposit box......!I did enjoy Oskar's voice - this was what kept me turning the pages - but it was not really believable as belonging to a nine-year-old, even a very bright one.

Review by

Entertaining read. Overconstructed novel, stuffed with textual finds. Intellectual cheap page filler. May write a good book, someday.

Review by

This is a very quirky novel. It's the story of Oskar, whose father died in the 9/11 attack on the World Trade Centre. He finds a key two years later, and sets out to try to find out which lock (of the 162 million in New York!) it opens. He hopes he will find out something to do with his dad, and whilst he is searching it makes Oskar feel closer to him, and ultimately helps with the grieving process.I loved the fact that the book has lots of visual aids - there are many pictures, and other devices, which add to the overall experience of this book. Intertwined with Oskar's search, is the story of his grandparents, originally from Dresden, which was bombed badly during World War II. I became engrossed in the story during the two days that it took me to read it. Oskar is a lovely boy and I thought his feelings were put across very well by the author. I had tears in my eyes a few times and also found myself smiling or laughing at times too.An unusual and affecting read.

  Previous  |  Next

Also by Jonathan Safran Foer   |  View all