Skin Deep, Paperback
5 out of 5 (1 rating)


An against-the-odds love story at the heart of a book for teens about prejudice, courage and a dark, compelling mystery.

Ugly people don't have feelings. They're not like everyone else. They don't notice if you stare at them and turn away. And if they did notice, it wouldn't hurt them. They're not like real people. Or that's what I used to think. Before I learned...After the car crash that leaves her best friend dead, Jenna is permanently scarred.

She struggles to rebuild her life, but every stare in the street, every time she looks in the mirror, makes her want to retreat further from the world.

Until she meets Ryan. Ryan's a traveller. When he and his mother moor their narrow boat on the outskirts of a village, she tells him this time it will be different.

He doesn't believe her; he can't imagine why this place shouldn't be as unwelcoming as the rest.

Until he meets Jenna. But as Jenna and Ryan grow closer, repercussions from the crash continue to reverberate through the community. And then a body is found...Fans of Sarah Dessen, Jenny Valentine and Jenny Downham will love Skin Deep.


  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 384 pages
  • Publisher: Egmont UK Ltd
  • Publication Date:
  • Category: Romance
  • ISBN: 9781405256728



Free Home Delivery

on all orders

Pick up orders

from local bookshops


Showing 1 - 1 of 1 reviews.

Review by

SKIN DEEP is quite simply, a beautiful book. It's the story of Jenna, the girl who was horribly disfigured in a tragic car accident, and Ryan, the gypsy traveller who's forced to be more parent than child to his bi-polar Mom.There are so many things to love about this story: for starters, the title is perfect as the theme of the novel is really about learning the layers of beauty, and how it can bloom or get twisted, the deeper you go. One of the things I liked most was how well each character is developed--even the baddie, Stephen Carlisle, has his reasons.Throughout the story, characters act heroically, and terribly, each according to their personal journey and their circumstances at the time. Sort of like how real life works, huh?Imo, it's this sublime craftsmanship--Jarratt's ability to reflect real life at its most personal and challenging--which catapults SKIN DEEP to a higher level. This is a very smart book with a very big heart and I recommend it highly.

Also by Laura Jarratt   |  View all