The Forgotten Seamstress, Paperback
5 out of 5 (1 rating)


A stunning book set in the Edwardian era about a seamstress working at Buckingham Palace.

Full of drama, betrayal and compelling historical detail - The Forgotten Seamstress by Liz Trenow is perfect for fans of Kate Morton and Joanne Harris.

It is 1914 and Maria, a shy teenager, is appointed to Buckingham Palace as a seamstress for the royal family.

She is lucky enough to meet the Prince of Wales and is captivated by his glamour and intensity.

But theirs is a doomed love affair and soon Maria's life takes a tragic turn.

Torn between passion and integrity, she makes a choice that has devastating consequences ...Can a beautiful quilt, discovered many years later reveal the truth behind what happened to Maria?




Free Home Delivery

on all orders

Pick up orders

from local bookshops


Showing 1 - 1 of 1 reviews.

Review by

The Forgotten Seamstress tells the stories of Maria, a woman who found herself incarcerated in a mental hospital in 1918 to avoid a scandal and Caroline, who in 2008 is given a patchwork quilt with a story woven into it. How the two stories are linked becomes clearer and clearer as the book goes on.I thought this was a charming and very lovely story. Incredibly easy to read but not lacking depth at all. Maria's story is a sad one and Caroline's discovery of the history of the quilt is fascinating. As the reader I loved how the stories came together, heading towards a twist in the tale that I hadn't guessed.This book was an absolute pleasure to read.