Coward Plays : "Hay Fever", "The Vortex", "Fallen Angels", "Easy Virtue" v.1, Paperback Book

Coward Plays : "Hay Fever", "The Vortex", "Fallen Angels", "Easy Virtue" v.1 Paperback

Part of the World Classics series


This first volume in the Coward Collection contains four plays written within a two year period when Coward and the century were still in their 20s.

The volume is introduced by Sheridan Morley, Coward's first biographer.

Hay Fever, a comedy of bad manners, concerns a weekend with friends of the Bliss family, who have all been invited independently for a weekend at their country house near Maidenhead. The Vortex was a controversial drama in its time, introducing drug-addiction onto the stage at a time when alcoholism was barely mentioned.

Fallen Angels, which is written for two star actresses was described as 'degenerate', 'vile', 'obscene', 'shocking' - the second half of the play is entirely taken up with an alcoholic duologue between the two women.

Easy Virtue is an elegant, laconic tribute to a lost world of drawing-room dramas, no other writer went more directly to the jugular of that moralistic, tight-lipped but fundamentally hypocritical 20s society. "He is simply a phenomenon, and one that is unlikely to occur ever again in theatre history" Terence Rattigan


  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 320 pages, bibliography
  • Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
  • Publication Date:
  • Category: Plays, playscripts
  • ISBN: 9780413460608



Free Home Delivery

on all orders

Pick up orders

from local bookshops

Also by Noel Coward   |  View all

Also in the World Classics series   |  View all