This Time of Dying, Paperback

This Time of Dying Paperback


This work is suitable for readers of "Sebastian Faulks", Helen Dunmore's "Zennor in Darkness" and "The Siege", Rose Tremain's "The Way I Found Her", and Pat Barker's "Regeneration" trilogy.

It is October 1918 and London is gathering in its dead.

For Henry Speake, of Speake & Son Undertakers, laying to rest the shattered young bodies of those sent home from the Front to die has become a grimly familiar duty.

But what he is seeing now, as influenza claims its victims with increasing speed and force, is something different; for the first time in his life, Henry feels afraid of death.

Unable to share his fears with his waspish, disapproving sisters, Henry turns instead to Mrs Allen Thompson, a recently widowed school teacher, so beginning a friendship which gradually, stumblingly, pulls them in a direction neither has been prepared for.


  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 240 pages
  • Publisher: Granta Books
  • Publication Date:
  • Category: Romance
  • ISBN: 9781846270468



Free Home Delivery

on all orders

Pick up orders

from local bookshops

Also by Reina James   |  View all