The Ferry Girls : 1, Hardback Book

Description

A young German girl finds friendship, camaraderie and even love while working on Gosport's ferries in the height of World War 2 - but will her new friends desert her if her nationality comes to light?

For fans of Daisy Styles and Sheila Newberry. 'Love, friendship, passion, drama and a cast of vibrant, authentic characters make this an exciting and enthralling read for all lovers of adventure, nostalgia and romance' Lancashire Evening Post Vee Smith is 22 when she starts work on Gosport's ferries, taking a job left vacant by the men gone off to war.

She soon makes friends with the other women workers, and together they enjoy nights out dancing in Gosport - keeping their spirits up despite the hard work, rationing and heavy bombing.

Vee even feels herself falling for Sam, the skipper of the ferry and her unhappily married boss.

But Vee has a secret: her real name is Violetta Schmidt, and she is half-German.

If her true nationality is discovered, she and her mother could find themselves interned as enemy aliens - if their German-hating neighbours, or worse, Eddie, the man Vee ran away from after he got her false papers, don't hurt them first. Will Vee be able to keep her secret safe, and find some peace with Sam and her friends even in the midst of war?

Information

  • Format: Hardback
  • Pages: 416 pages
  • Publisher: Quercus Publishing
  • Publication Date:
  • Category: Sagas
  • ISBN: 9781786483300

Other Formats

Save 37%

£20.99

£13.09

 
Free Home Delivery

on all orders

 
Pick up orders

from local bookshops

Also by Rosie Archer   |  View all