The Memory Book, Hardback
5 out of 5 (2 ratings)


The name of your first-born. The face of your lover. Your age. Your address...What would happen if your memory of these began to fade?

Is it possible to rebuild your life? Raise a family? Fall in love again? When Claire starts to write her Memory Book, she already knows that this scrapbook of mementoes will soon be all her daughters and husband have of her.

But how can she hold on to the past when her future is slipping through her fingers...? Original, heartwarming and uplifting, The Memory Book is perfect for fans of Jojo Moyes.




Free Home Delivery

on all orders

Pick up orders

from local bookshops


Showing 1 - 2 of 2 reviews.

Review by

The Memory Book is the story of Claire Armstrong, a woman in her forties who is diagnosed with early-onset Alzheimer's Disease. It turns out it runs in the family as her father had the same illness. It's also the story of Caitlin, Claire's 20 year old daughter who is watching her mother slowly deteriorate.Greg, Claire's husband buys Claire a memory book, a lovely writing book in which Claire, and indeed all the family, can record special memories. These memories form part of the story too.This is a fabulous read. It made me laugh in places and brought tears to my eyes in others. It's ultimately a moving story about making the most of your life because you never know what's around the corner, of remembering to tell people how you feel and of making sure you pass memories on so they're not lost.I really enjoyed Rowan Coleman's writing. She managed to write the story in a light and easy style without dumbing down what is a very emotive storyline and I just loved reading it. There's also a really lovely twist to the tale that I never guessed at and which came together beautifully at the end. I'd highly recommend this book - brilliant!

Review by

I LOVED this book!!! It is my favorite Rowan Coleman book so far. Claire diagnosed with Alzheimer's at a young age, is newly married with two children(one of them only three.) It broke my heart how she couldn't remember her husband and then when she met the mysterious man, I felt horrible for her husband. This book touched me and brought to light that this disease affects not only the person, but their loved ones. This book is happy and sad all at once. I can't stop thinking about the family and wondering what they are up to.