Sacrilege, Paperback
3 out of 5 (2 ratings)

Description

Perfect for fans of C.J. Sansom and The Name of the Rose, the third historical thriller featuring Giordano Bruno, heretic, philosopher and spy.

London, 1584. Giordano Bruno travels to Canterbury for love. But finds only murder ...Giordano Bruno is being followed by the woman he once loved - Sophia Underhill, accused of murder and on the run.

With the leave of the Queen's spymaster, he sets out to clear Sophia's name.

But when more brutal killings occur a far deadlier plot emerges.

A city rife with treachery. A relic steeped in blood. His hunt for the real killer leads to the shadows of the Cathedral - England's holiest shrine - and the heart of a sinister and powerful conspiracy ...Heretic, maverick, charmer: Giordano Bruno is always on his guard.

Never more so than when working for Queen Elizabeth and her spymaster - for this man of letters is now an agent of intrigue and danger ...

Information

  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 512 pages
  • Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
  • Publication Date:
  • Category: Historical mysteries
  • ISBN: 9780007317783

£7.99

£7.15

 
Free Home Delivery

on all orders

 
Pick up orders

from local bookshops

Reviews

Showing 1 - 2 of 2 reviews.

Review by
2

This is a book about power and betrayal. The first quarter reads as a rather dull fairy story, then the investigation kicks in and things pick up. The setting is over-described and the characters tend to be inconsistent or thin. There are a couple of strong set pieces and the general perspective of the presentation is intriguing. Some passages and characters borrow rather too heavily from Shardlake.

Review by
4

This is the third in the author's Giordano Bruno series. This time the action and the inevitable Catholic plot are centred around the precincts of Canterbury cathedral, an area which I know well, which added depth to the novel for me. The plot was rather convoluted, involving a fake miracle and the bones of St Thomas a Becket. It's colourful and absorbing and there were some interesting minor characters such as old Meg, Rebecca and Brother Anselm, but it doesn't have the impact on me of C J Sansom's novels. I think the issue for me is partly that, while Bruno is a fascinating figure in the history of religion and science, he is just not really plausible as a sleuth and spy, given that he stands out so much in Elizabethan England.

Also by S. J. Parris   |  View all

£7.99

£7.15

£7.99

£7.15

£8.99

£7.69

£7.99

£7.15