Awakening, Paperback
4 out of 5 (1 rating)


A terrifying, heart-racing up-all-night thriller perfect for fans of Gillian Flynn and Tess Gerritsen You know that feeling?

The one that makes you want to glance over your shoulder?

All Clara Benning wants is a peaceful life as a wildlife vet, and to hide her disfigurement from the world.

But now she doesn't have a choice. Because a man has died from a suspicious snake bite, and Clara's concern leads her to the abandoned house at the end of the lane, and an unspeakable tragedy that occurred half a century ago. "A cracking story."(Guardian Sharon Bolton (previously S.

J. Bolton) is the author of six critically acclaimed novels).

She has been shortlisted for the CWA Gold Dagger for Crime Novel of the Year, the Theakstons Old Peculiar Crime Novel of the Year and the CWA Dagger in the Library.

Sharon lives near Oxford with her husband and young son.

For more information about the author and her books, or to check out her addictive blog.


  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 560 pages
  • Publisher: Transworld Publishers Ltd
  • Publication Date:
  • Category: Thriller / suspense
  • ISBN: 9780552156141



Free Home Delivery

on all orders

Pick up orders

from local bookshops


Showing 1 - 1 of 1 reviews.

Review by

A superior thriller here from S.J. Bolton. Clara is an interesting heroine - and I particularly liked the way that her own disturbing past was revealed cleverly at intervals throughout the novel, this added an extra mystery to the main narrative strand of the novel.The mystery unfolds at a fair pace and keeps the reader guessing until the end. I expected further twists right at the end in actaul fact, convinced as I was that there was even more to the story to be told. There is lots of tension in this novel but I think what makes it extra special is that the main character is not only battling with her foes but also with therslef and the way she perceives her own life. Rather like Shardlake in the C.J. Sansom mysteries in a way - a physical deformiyt having a profound impact on the sleuth's character.I also feel that I have learned a lot about snakes now and certainly never want to meet a Taipan. Oh and I knew it would have something to do with crazy religious people in the end - I just couldn't figure out quite what. All in all a fine read and a book that I was thinking about at work every day this last week, wanting to get back home and get stuck back into it. Superior sleuthing!!

Also by Sharon Bolton   |  View all