Chasing Magic, Paperback
3.5 out of 5 (1 rating)


The fifth book in Stacia Kane's gripping and gritty DOWNSIDE GHOSTS urban fantasy series, perfect for fans of Charlaine Harris, Laurell K.

Hamilton and Kim Harrison. A DEADLY HIGH Magic-wielding Churchwitch and secret addict Chess Putnam knows better than anyone just how high a price people are willing to pay for a chemical rush.

But when someone with money to burn and a penchant for black magic starts tampering with Downside's drug supply, Chess realizes that the unlucky customers are paying with their souls - and taking the innocent with them, as the magic-infused speed compels them to kill in the most gruesome ways possible.

As if the streets weren't scary enough, the looming war between the two men in her life explodes, taking even more casualties and putting Chess squarely in the middle.

Downside could become a literal ghost town if Chess doesn't find a way to stop both the war and the dark wave of death-magic, and the only way to do that is to use both her addiction and her power to enter the spell and chase the magic all the way back to its malevolent source. Too bad that doing so will probably kill Chess - if the war doesn't first destroy the man who's become her reason for living.


  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 320 pages
  • Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
  • Publication Date:
  • Category: Fantasy
  • ISBN: 9780007437764



Free Home Delivery

on all orders

Pick up orders

from local bookshops


Showing 1 - 1 of 1 reviews.

Review by

Chess is so messed up, what she did to terrible to keep him aliver seems to have side-effects that she didn't expect but now he keeps passing out when there's dark magic around and Chess is desperately trying to work out why. She's also taking too much drugs and what's worse there's a strain of one of the drugs she's taking that is causing people to go berserk. There's magi involved and she has to investigate and keep herself safe and work out where her relationship with Terrible is going.It's interesting, the characters make it so, the drug-use is a problem, if her character is to have a reasonable future she's going to have to come off the drugs and she knows it. I do wonder if her boss and Terrible aren't going to conspire to arrange for her to detox.This one came across as better than some of the others, the characters made me feel for them and I wanted them to succeed, I was actually invested in them winning. I'm curious to know where this is going from here.

Also by Stacia Kane   |  View all

Also in the Downside Ghosts series   |  View all