The Map, Paperback
2.5 out of 5 (2 ratings)


Mazes, riddles, witchcraft ...and centuries-old secrets An Oxford classics scholar has discovered an ancient scroll. A band of black-magic worshippers has gathered in London. A map to three labyrinths hidden within Europe has been unfolded. And an ancient mystery is calling ...Pursued by spies and secret agents, guarding the map from unseen enemies, August Winthrop plunges headlong into a Europe ravaged by war.

But the map will lead him farther than he ever dreamed - into a series of labyrinths with the power to change the world. From the Top 10 bestselling author of Sphinx comes the most dazzling novel of the year - a sophisticated, relentlessly exciting story in the tradition of Dan Brown, Robert Harris and Kate Mosse.


  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 608 pages
  • Publisher: Little, Brown Book Group
  • Publication Date:
  • Category: Thriller / suspense
  • ISBN: 9780751545500



Free Home Delivery

on all orders

Pick up orders

from local bookshops


Showing 1 - 2 of 2 reviews.

Review by

Uncomfortable mix of Cold War thriller and occult mystery.

Review by

A little disappointing because I found the main character rather annoying, and he seemed to have just the right skills and tools needed to get him out of sticky moments all the time. The historical research that went into this novel, however, made it interesting, as well as the twists and turns that raised the tension and momentum as the thriller progressed. The map has survived through the centuries, protected by a secret group, but secrets have a way of leaking to the wrong ears, and a struggle and race is on to protect the world from those who want the map to immense power. Journeying through Europe, we're hauled along through mazes, introduced to secret spies and face surprises around each corner.Not, I thought, as good as Sphinx, but still entertaining.

Also by Tobsha Learner