The Marks of Cain, Paperback
2.5 out of 5 (2 ratings)


The gripping new high-concept thriller from the author of The Genesis Secret, perfect for fans of Dan Brown and Sam Bourne.

In America a young man inherits a million dollars, from a grandfather he thought was poor.

Meanwhile, across Europe old men and women are being killed, in the most barbaric and elaborate of ways. And a brilliant scientist has disappeared from his laboratory in London, taking his extraordinary experiments with him.

Tying these strange events together is an ancient Biblical curse, a medieval French tribe of pariahs, and a momentous and terrible revelation: something that will alter the world forever.

One couple is intent on discovering this darkest of secrets, others will kill, and kill again, to stop them.

Shifting from the forgotten churches of the Pyrenees, to the mysterious castles of the SS, to the arid and frightening wastes of Namibia, Tom Knox weaves together astonishing truths from ancient scripture and contemporary science to create an unputdownable thriller.


  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 448 pages
  • Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
  • Publication Date:
  • Category: Thriller / suspense
  • ISBN: 9780007342617



Free Home Delivery

on all orders

Pick up orders

from local bookshops


Showing 1 - 2 of 2 reviews.

Review by

While the travelling kept up a fast pace I didn't get a sense of place from anywhere mentioned. Some vague descriptions just whetted my appetite to read more about the regions. Amy, David and Simon really didn't come to life for me but the story kept me reading.It's a gruesome story and with not enough details left out sometimes and vaguely twitch-making pseudo eugenics science thrown in for good measure.It did keep my attention and David's mystery was what kept me reading but I think the author was trying too hard to impress.

Review by
The Marks of Cain was a little bit slow to start with, and left you wondering how and where the two strands of the story's plot would join together, because it was obvious that they would, somewhere along the line, and while it was an interesting and imaginitive use of some historical paradoxes and facts and things that shouldn't have happened but did, the story suffered from what I'm going to call the 24 syndrome.You know how, in the TV series 24 that Jack and co have a really bad, unrelenting day from start to finish? Well that's pretty much the life of the characters in this story. The enemy/antagonist just keeps on turning up, and they never get a moments peace. You know it's going to happen, and you just keep waiting for it to happen, but when it does it just makes you groan, because, please /no/ one individual has eyes that far and wide - I don't care /who/ he is or what organisations he has in his pocket. That for me was something that took away from the story.Unfortunately, too, the ending smacked a little of 'deux ex.' Either I /missed/ the clues as to what was going on all through the story, that led to this ending, or it was just an ending that came out of the blue, a plot device that existed only in the author's head/outline, and never in the text, and without reading it again, I couldn't tell you which - and as far as that goes, it was good to read the book once, but a second time might be pushing it.

Also by Tom Knox   |  View all