The Gravity of Birds, Paperback
4 out of 5 (1 rating)


A haunting debut of love in all its forms, The Gravity of Birds perfectly captures the devastating consequences betrayal can have through the decades, echoing right through to the present day.

Perfect for fans of Kate Morton and Maggie O'Farrell Sisters Alice and Natalie were once close, but adolescence has wrenched them apart.

Alice is a dreamer who loves books and birds; Natalie is headstrong, manipulative - and beautiful.

On their lakeside family holiday, Alice falls under the thrall of a struggling young painter, Thomas Bayber.

Natalie, however, seems strangely unmoved, tolerating sittings for a family portrait with surprising indifference.

But by the end of the summer, three lives are shattered.

Decades later, Thomas, now a world-renowned artist, reveals the existence of a portrait of himself with Alice and Natalie from that fateful summer.

The sisters themselves have disappeared without a trace. And Thomas is torn between taking the secrets of the girls to the grave, or using the painting to resurrect the past before it closes up on them all for good...




Free Home Delivery

on all orders

Pick up orders

from local bookshops


Showing 1 - 1 of 1 reviews.

Review by

The writing was wonderful and the story mysterious. There were a lot of twists I wasn't expecting, most of which worked well but there was one at the end I felt was a little unnecessary.