Tough, Tough Toys for Tough, Tough Boys, Paperback

Tough, Tough Toys for Tough, Tough Boys Paperback


"Tough, Tough Toys for Tough, Tough Boys" - stories by Booker-shortlisted author Will Self. "Self at his most nihilistic and funny; you'll laugh and flinch at the same time". ("Guardian"). "Self has turned out an hilarious collection, with the requisite touch of disorientation. "Flytopia", the story about a man who suddenly finds flies more lovable than his girlfriend, follows the Kafkaesque line Self opened with his recent novel "Great Apes" - man as animal..."Story for Europe", about a two-year-old north Londoner who suddenly starts speaking business German, is comic genius". (Brenda Maddox, "New Statesman"). "When Will Self wants to step outside his cultivated amoral threshold and shock us into rage, the effect can be profound awesome London Dungeon of a collection...Self is a massive talent". ("Time Out"). "He has a powerful sense of place: the murkier streets of London ...where anything can happen...And modernity is his urgent subject". ("The Times"). For readers of "The Book of Dave" and "Umbrella", "Tough, Tough Boys" ...will also be adored by readers of Martin Amis, David Mitchell and Irvine Welsh. Will Self is the author of nine novels including "Cock and Bull"; "My Idea of Fun"; "Great Apes"; "How the Dead Live"; "Dorian, an Imitation"; "The Book of Dave"; "The Butt"; "Walking to Hollywood" and "Umbrella", which was shortlisted for the Man Booker Prize.

He has written five collections of shorter fiction and three novellas: "The Quantity Theory of Insanity"; "Grey Area"; "License to Hug"; "The Sweet Smell of Psychosis"; "Design Faults in the Volvo 760 Turbo"; "Tough, Tough Toys for Tough, Tough Boys"; "Dr. Mukti and Other Tales of Woe" and "Liver: A Fictional Organ with a Surface Anatomy of Four Lobes".

Self has also compiled a number of nonfiction works, including "The Undivided Self: Selected Stories"; "Junk Mail"; "Perfidious Man"; "Sore Sites"; "Feeding Frenzy"; "Psychogeography"; "Psycho Too" and "The Unbearable Lightness of Being a Prawn Cracker".




Free Home Delivery

on all orders

Pick up orders

from local bookshops

Also by Will Self   |  View all