The Collected Stories, Paperback
5 out of 5 (1 rating)


"The Collected Stories" - a stunning volume of William Trevor's unforgettable short stories.

William Trevor is one of the most renowned figures in contemporary literature, described as 'the greatest living writer of short stories in the English language' by the New Yorker and acclaimed for his haunting and profound insights into the human heart.

Here is a collection of his short fiction, with dozens of tales spanning his career and ranging from the moving to the macabre, the humorous to the haunting.

From the penetrating "Memories of Youghal" to the bittersweet "Bodily Secrets" and the elegiac "Two More Gallants", here are masterpieces of insight, depth, drama and humanity, acutely rendered by a modern master. "A textbook for anyone who ever wanted to write a story, and a treasure for anyone who loves to read them". (Madison Smartt Bell). "Extraordinary...Mr. Trevor's sheer intensity of entry into the lives of his people ...proceeds to uncover new layers of yearning and pain, new angles of vision and credible thought". ("The New York Times Book Review"). Readers of "The Story of Lucy Gault" and "Love and Summer" will adore "The Collected Stories". They will also be cherished by readers of Colm Toibin and William Boyd.

William Trevor was born in Mitchelstown, County Cork.

He has written eighteen novels and novellas, and hundreds of short stories, for which he has won a number of prizes including the Hawthornden Prize, the Yorkshire Post Book of the Year Award, the Whitbread Book of the Year Award and the David Cohen Literature Prize in recognition of a lifetime's literary achievement.

In 2002 he was knighted for his services to literature.

His books in Penguin are: "After Rain"; "A Bit on the Side"; "Bodily Secrets"; "Cheating at Canasta"; "The Children of Dynmouth"; "The Collected Stories" (Volumes One and Two); "Death in Summer"; "Felicia's Journey"; "Fools of Fortune"; "The Hill Bachelors"; "Love and Summer"; "The Mark-2 Wife"; "Selected Stories"; "The Story of Lucy Gault" and "Two Lives".




Free Home Delivery

on all orders

Pick up orders

from local bookshops


Showing 1 - 1 of 1 reviews.

Review by

I took several years to read this collection, and not simply because it’s 1261 pages long and comprised of eighty-four stories. Mainly because each story is so very, very good that I wanted to savor each one. I’d read a story, then set the book aside for a while. I might finish ten books (including some of Trevor’s others) before I came back to it. So it took a while and was worth every minute.William Trevor is a master at making the ordinary compelling. He writes of the deep emotions that belong to us all. He writes about tragedy; in love, war, family life, life in general. Mourning, betrayal, cruelty are all represented. And of course love. Thwarted love, doomed love, betrayed love, impossible love. Trevor writes about it all, with subtlety and a deep inventiveness that makes each story unique and absorbing. Always the characters are what matter. The stories take place in England, Ireland, Italy, but the real action is with the characters. It’s a genuine marvel to have written this many outstanding stories, and Trevor is still working and creating more stories and novels, which is good for all of us.

Also by William Trevor   |  View all