The Last Telegram, Paperback
2.5 out of 5 (2 ratings)


The war changed everything for Lily Verner. As the Nazis storm Europe, Lily becomes an apprentice at her family's silk weaving factory.

When they start to weave parachute silk there is no margin for error: one tiny fault could result in certain death for Allied soldiers.

The war also brings Stefan to Lily: a German Jewish refugee who works on the looms.

As their love grows, there are suspicions someone is tampering with the silk.

Can their love survive the hardships of war? And will the Verner's silk stand the ultimate test? The Last Telegram is an evocative and engaging novel for fans of The Postmistress and Pam Jenoff.


  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 400 pages
  • Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
  • Publication Date:
  • Category: Historical fiction
  • ISBN: 9780007480821



Free Home Delivery

on all orders

Pick up orders

from local bookshops


Showing 1 - 2 of 2 reviews.

Review by

I bought this on my new Kindle Fire, because the cover looked attractive and the price was too tempting to resist, but the gamble didn't quite pay off. <i>The Last Telegram</i> is the debut novel from journalist-turned-author Liz Trenow, about a plucky young woman who takes over her family's silk weaving mill during the Second World War, and the factual bones of the story are largely based on the author's own family history. I loved learning about the production of silk, and how the manufacturers of decorative costume trimmings came to make an important contribution to the war effort by turning out silk parachutes instead, but the 'weft' of the author's research wasn't woven into the 'warp' of the fictional setting with enough care or ease. Nor did I take to Lily, the 'gutsy' heroine, or believe in her romance with Jewish refugee Stefan. I think, with a little careful editing for language and sex scenes, Liz Trenow's book would be better marketed as a Young Adult novel, because she conveys the anguish and bravery of wartime very well, but fails to create fully realised characters. Lily, who works in a man's world, stands up to bullies, falls in love and endures the tragic loss of those closest to her, would make a great role model for impressionable teens, while sneaking in a history lesson or two!

Review by

I read a review of this book that compared it to The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society. This book is no Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society. It was a rather boring, predictable love story set in WWII in England.