Please note: In order to keep Hive up to date and provide users with the best features, we are no longer able to fully support Internet Explorer. The site is still available to you, however some sections of the site may appear broken. We would encourage you to move to a more modern browser like Firefox, Edge or Chrome in order to experience the site fully.

Supporting your high street Find out how »

Children's Book of the Month

A reason to read..

This exclusive gold foiled 20th anniversary hardback gift edition commemorates the miserable fact that every child in the world has wanted this brilliantly funny book for twenty years. 

The Bad Beginning - 20th Anniversary Gift Edition

The Bad Beginning 20th anniversary gift edition - Lemony Snicket

 

The Bad Beginning is the first book in the globally bestselling series A Series of Unfortunate Events.

Perfect for fans of Roald Dahl and Mr Gum, young readers of 9 to 11 will adore the mischievously dark humour.

'A Series of Unfortunate Events' has been made into a blockbuster Hollywood film starring Jim Carrey and is also a hit Netflix TV series. Now with new anniversary blurb by the mysterious author himself. 'Dear Reader, For the past twenty years, my books have been upsetting the countless readers who have been foolish enough to begin to read them...'

The three Baudelaire siblings and their lives of misery and woe have now been responsible for more than two decades of weeping. From the very first page of this book, when the children are at the beach and receive terrible news, to the last page, when something goes wrong at the worst possible moment, disaster strikes Violet, Klaus and Sunny wherever they go.

 

£9.99

£8.29

Meet the Author

Daniel Handler aka Lemony Snicket

Daniel Handler, as Lemony Snicket, is responsible for numerous books for children, including Swarm of Bees, illustrated by Rilla Alexander.

His books have sold more than 70 million copies and have been translated into 40 languages, and have been adapted for screen and stage. The first season of Netflix’s adaptation of A Series of Unfortunate Events, for which he served as Executive Producer and Writer, won a 2018 Peabody Award for its “lively excellence, strange silliness, and compelling storytelling,” and the teleplay won a 2019 Writers Guild Award.

He lives in San Francisco with the illustrator Lisa Brown, to whom he is married and with whom he has collaborated on several books, and one son.

Also by Daniel Handler aka Lemony Snicket   |  View all