The Kill Call, Paperback
4 out of 5 (1 rating)


An atmospheric new Fry and Cooper thriller for fans of Peter Robinson and Reginald Hill.

On a rain-swept Derbyshire moor, hounds from the local foxhunt find the body of a well-dressed man whose head has been crushed.

Yet an anonymous caller reports the same body lying half a mile away.

Called in to investigate the discovery, detectives DS Diane Fry and DC Ben Cooper become entangled in the violent world of hunting and hunt saboteurs, horse theft and a little-known sector of the meat trade.

As Fry follows a complex trail of her own to unravel the shady business interests of the murder victim, Cooper realizes that the answer to the case might lie deep in the past.

History is everywhere around him in the Peak District landscape - particularly in the 'plague village' of Eyam, where an outbreak of Black Death has been turned into a modern-day tourist attraction.

But, even as the final solution is revealed, both Fry and Cooper find themselves having to face up to the disturbing reality of the much more recent past.


  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 544 pages
  • Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
  • Publication Date:
  • Category: Crime & mystery
  • ISBN: 9780007243471



Free Home Delivery

on all orders

Pick up orders

from local bookshops


Showing 1 - 1 of 1 reviews.

Review by

Another very atmospheric story set in the author's familiar Peak District landscape, where a man is found dead near a meeting of the local hunt - is there a connection? Fry and Cooper begin looking into the background of the dead man and find no shortage of people who might want him dead. As is usual with Stephen Booth, a very evocative sense of location and character stand out in this tale weaving between current and past until the link is made with history. Recommended.

Also by Stephen Booth   |  View all









Also in the Cooper and Fry Crime Series series   |  View all