The Pocket Wife, Paperback
4 out of 5 (1 rating)


She closes her eyes and tries to remember the last thing she said to Celia.

She thinks it was 'I don't ever want to see you again'.

For fans of THE SILENT WIFE and BEFORE I GO TO SLEEP comes a gripping domestic psychological debut.

Dana Catrell wakes from a drunken stupor to find that her neighbour, Celia, has been brutally murdered in her own home.

But Dana was at Celia's house only a few hours ago. Celia wanted to show her a photo - a photo of Dana's husband with another woman - and Dana has blank spots of what happened to the rest of the afternoon ...This is a thriller that makes the reader question everything.

Dana, we learn, has a history of mental illness and as she descends into another manic episode, the line between what actually happened and what she has imagined becomes blurred.


  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 320 pages
  • Publisher: Faber & Faber
  • Publication Date:
  • Category: Crime & mystery
  • ISBN: 9780571321889



Free Home Delivery

on all orders

Pick up orders

from local bookshops


Showing 1 - 1 of 1 reviews.

Review by

I won The Pocket Wife via the Goodreads First Reads program. Thanks to the publisher for sending me a copy.I really liked this! Dana was a likeable character. I was worried the mental illness would be overdone or unrealistic but it seemed believable. The characters were original and interesting, and overall this book was very engrossing. I finished it in two sittings. I figured out the mystery but I don't think it was terribly predictable.As for the bad: some of the sentences were really clunky and it was sometimes difficult to figure out what was being said. And I noticed a mixed metaphor or two, but I don't know whether that's the sort of thing that gets fixed at this stage of the book's publication.But anyway. Really good read. Would recommend to fans of psychological mysteries. It's being compared to books like Before I Go to Sleep and Girl on the Train, and I enjoyed Pocket Wife better than those two, so there you go.

Also by Susan Crawford   |  View all