Supporting your high street Find out how »
Basket Image


The Booker Prize

The Booker Prize is considered by many to be the leading literary award in the English speaking world, and has brought recognition, reward and readership to outstanding fiction for over five decades.

This year’s longlist of 13 books was selected by a panel of five judges from 151 novels.

The shortlist of six books will be announced on Tuesday 3rd September and the shortlisted authors will each receive £2,500 and a specially bound edition of their book. The 2019 winner - who will receive £50,000 - will be announced on Monday 14th October at an awards ceremony at London’s Guildhall.

Click here to find out more about the Booker Prize.

The Booker Prize 2019 Longlist

Chair of the 2019 judges, Peter Florence

If you only read one book this year, make a leap. Read all 13 of these.
There are Nobel candidates and debutants on this list. There are no favourites; they are all credible winners. They imagine our world, familiar from news cycle disaster and grievance, with wild humour, deep insight and a keen humanity. These writers offer joy and hope. They celebrate the rich complexity of English as a global language. They are exacting, enlightening and entertaining.
Really – read all of them.