logo
Supporting your high street Find out how »
Basket Image

Basket

CILIP Carnegie & Kate Greenaway

The CILIP Carnegie and Kate Greenaway Medals are the UK's oldest and most prestigious children's book awards. Often described by authors and illustrators as 'the one they want to win' - they are the gold standard in children's literature.

The CILIP Carnegie Medal is awarded by children's librarians for an outstanding book written in English for children and young people.

The CILIP Kate Greenaway Medal is awarded by children's librarians for an outstanding book in terms of illustration for children and young people.

Winner of the 2019 CILIP Carnegie Medal

The Poet X - WINNER OF THE CILIP CARNEGIE MEDAL 2019 - Elizabeth Acevedo

Xiomara has always kept her words to herself. When it comes to standing her ground in her Harlem neighbourhood, she lets her fists and her fierceness do the talking.

But X has secrets – her feelings for a boy in her bio class, and the notebook full of poems that she keeps under her bed. And a slam poetry club that will pull those secrets into the spotlight.

Because in spite of a world that might not want to hear her, Xiomara refuses to stay silent.

A powerful novel with an unforgettable voice, perfect for fans of Rupi Kaur, The Hate U Give and Sarah Crossan's One.

£7.99

£7.19

Winner of the 2019 CILIP Kate Greenaway Medal

The Lost Words - Jackie Morris

All over the country, there are words disappearing from children's lives. These are the words of the natural world - Dandelion, Otter, Bramble and Acorn, all gone. The rich landscape of wild imagination and wild play is rapidly fading from our children's minds.

The Lost Words stands against the disappearance of wild childhood. It is a joyful celebration of nature words and the natural world they invoke. With acrostic spell-poems by award-winning writer Robert Macfarlane and hand-painted illustration by Jackie Morris, this enchanting book captures the irreplaceable magic of language and nature for all ages.

£20.00

£15.15

2019 Carnegie Medal Shortlist

2019 Kate Greenaway Medal Shortlist