All That Was Lost, Paperback / softback Book

All That Was Lost Paperback / softback

Description

Perfect for fans of Maeve BinchyIn 1967 Patience Bickersleigh is a teenager who discovers a talent for telling people what they want to hear.

Fifty years later she is Patrice Leigh, a nationally celebrated medium.

But cracks are forming in the carefully constructed barriers that keep her real history at bay. Leo is the journalist hired to write Patrice's biography.

Struggling to reconcile the demands of his family, his grief for his lost son, and his need to understand his own background, Leo becomes more and more frustrated at Patrice's refusal to open up. Because behind closed doors, Patrice is hiding more than one secret. And it seems that now, her past is finally catching up with her. May thrills in this English familial mystery, adding enticing plot layers as intricate and divisive as the themes she introduces. `Intriguing with a cast of complex characters that keep you fascinated, this is a page-turner and surprisingly tender' Katie FForde`A resonant, emotional story about grief, loss and love with a complex, tragic heroine-a fake psychic reaching the end of her career.

Although it's about death, this story is never depressing, and ultimately it's about recovery and healing' Julie Cohen`A beautiful and compelling story that delves into what is real, what we are willing to believe and the power of grief' Liz Fenwick`"All That is Lost" is a bold, beautiful thought-provoking novel, that sensitively confronts difficult themes' Rowan Coleman'It is a triumph.

What Alison May has produced is an intimate and affecting study of loss, grief and identity that is just wonderful.' Linda's Book Bag'What an interesting and unique book... a fascinating, at times heart-wrenching, look at secrets, the cost of keeping them hidden, and whether hiding them requires lies.' Fireflies and Free Kicks

Information

£8.99

£7.49

 
Free Home Delivery

on all orders

 
Pick up orders

from local bookshops