Far to Go, Paperback / softback Book

Description

Longlisted for the 2011 MAN BOOKER PRIZE for Fiction, FAR TO GO is a powerful, heart-breaking story of one family's epic journey to flee the Nazi occupation of their homeland in 1939.

For readers of THE TATTOOIST OF AUSCHWITZ and SCHINDLER'S LIST. 'Extraordinary' Daily Mail 'A potential classic in the making' Financial TimesPavel and Anneliese Bauer are affluent, secular Jews, whose lives are turned upside down by the arrival of the German forces in Czechoslovakia.

Desperate to avoid deportation, the Bauers flee to Prague with their six-year-old son, Pepik, and his beloved nanny, Marta.

When the family try to flee without her to Paris, Marta betrays them to her Nazi boyfriend.

But it is through Marta's determination that Pepik secures a place on a Kindertransport, though he never sees his parents or Marta again.

Inspired by Alison Pick's own grandparents who fled their native Czechoslovakia for Canada during the Second World War, FAR TO GO is a mesmerising, deeply personal novel.

Information

Other Formats

£8.99

£7.99

 
Free Home Delivery

on all orders

 
Pick up orders

from local bookshops