A Word After Dying (Mitchell & Markby 10) : A cosy Cotswolds crime novel of murder and suspicion, Paperback / softback Book

A Word After Dying (Mitchell & Markby 10) : A cosy Cotswolds crime novel of murder and suspicion Paperback / softback

Description

A holiday becomes work for Mitchell and Markby as a crime unravels... Mitchell and Markby find themselves drawn into a murder enquiry whilst holiday in a country cottage in A Word After Dying, the tenth cosy English village crime novel in Ann Granger's captivating Mitchell & Markby series.

The perfect read for fans of Rebecca Tope, Agatha Christie and ITV's Midsomer Murders. 'Probably the best current example of a crime writer who has taken the classic English village detective story and brought it up to date' - Birmingham Post Superintendent Alan Markby and Meredith Mitchell are in desperate need of a holiday - and the Cotswold village of Parsloe St John seems the perfect choice.

Their neighbour, retired journalist Wynne Carter, is as convivial as the village itself and, over a glass of blackberry wine, indulges in her latest obsession, Olivia Smeaton, a racy old lady whose life - and death - she is convinced are not all they seem.

Markby is more interested in buying Olivia's house than the circumstances of her vacating it, but Meredith is intrigued: by the old lady, the death of a cherished horse and a dusty junk shop run by a white witch. When another fatality - of a very grisly nature - is discovered, it seems her suspicion is justified.

Clearly Olivia isn't the only enigma in Parsloe St John - and her death might be the first of many unless Meredith Mitchell and Alan Markby can make sense of some very secret lives to reach the truth... What readers are saying about A Word After Dying:'If you like your crime novels written in a low key style with plenty of amusing moments and not too much graphic violence then this is the series for you''Yet another great Mitchell & Markby whodunit''An invigorating novel!'

Information

  • Format: Paperback / softback
  • Pages: 352 pages
  • Publisher: Headline Publishing Group
  • Publication Date:
  • Category: Crime & mystery
  • ISBN: 9780747251873

£9.99

£8.89

 
Free Home Delivery

on all orders

 
Pick up orders

from local bookshops