The Winter Queen : An Erast Fandorin Mystery 1, Paperback Book

The Winter Queen : An Erast Fandorin Mystery 1 Paperback

Part of the Erast Fandorin Mysteries series

Description

'Think Tolstoy writing James Bond with the logical rigour of Sherlock Holmes.

A hoot' GuardianThe first book in the internationally bestselling Erast Fandorin Mysteries series.Moscow 1876.

A young law student commits suicide in broad daylight in Moscow's Alexander Gardens.

But this is no ordinary death, for the young man was the son of an influential industrialist and has left a considerable fortune.Erast Fandorin, a hotheaded new recruit to the Criminal Investigation Department, is assigned to the case.

Brilliant, young, and sophisticated, Fandorin embarks on an investigation that will take him from the palatial mansions of Moscow to the seedy backstreets of London in his hunt for the conspirators behind this mysterious death.'A sparkling romp of a story' TLS'An effectively concocted story' Independent'Very fast-moving and enjoyable' Crime Time'In Russia Boris Akunin is roughly the counterpart of John Grisham...

The Winter Queen is as delicate and elegant as a Faberge egg' TimeWhat readers are saying about the Erast Fandorin Mysteries:'I loved it... I just couldn't put it down!' My book Obsession'A delightful mystery/adventure!

There's a dark twist at the end that has me anxious to continue in this series' Neil on Goodreads (five stars)'Ultimately, the overall success of The Winter Queen is due to the vibrancy of its setting, the cleanness of its prose and the magnetism of its protagonist...

Odds seem good that Akunin will be the next detective to capture readers' fancy en masse.

If so, it will only be a matter of time before the entire Fandorin Cycle is translated -- the sooner, the better' Sarah Weinman, January Magazine 'These books are a fun, riotous read that you don't want to put down until you've completed each and every one of them' Jill on Goodreads (five stars)'The conclusion is shocking and this reader can't wait to delve into the next in the series' A Writer's Jumble'Nail-biter all the way through!' Corin on Goodreads (five stars)A page-turning delight perfect for fans of Sherlock Holmes, Hercule Poirot and the Russian literary greats.

Information

  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 256 pages
  • Publisher: Orion Publishing Co
  • Publication Date:
  • Category: Crime & mystery
  • ISBN: 9780753817599

Other Formats

£8.99

£7.05

 
Free Home Delivery

on all orders

 
Pick up orders

from local bookshops

Also by Boris Akunin   |  View all

Also in the Erast Fandorin Mysteries series   |  View all