Supporting your high street Find out how »
Basket Image


The Mammy, Paperback / softback Book


The first book in the Agnes Browne trilogyAgnes Browne is a widow of only a few hours when she goes to the Social Welfare Office.

Living in James Larkin Flats, with Redsers' legacy - seven little Brownes - to support on the income from her Moore Street stall, she can't afford to miss a day's pension.

Life is like that for Agnes and her best pal Marion.

But they still have time for a laugh and a jar, and Agnes even has a dream - that one day she will dance with Cliff Richard. The Mammy describes the life and times, the joys and sorrows of Agnes, mother of the famous Mrs. Browne's Boys from the daily radio soap. A book of hilarious incidents, glorious characters, and a passion for life, it is written with a sure touch and great ear for dialogue. 'Hilarious and irreverent. A must-read.' Gabriel Byrne


Other Formats

Also by Brendan O'Carroll   |  View all