Please note: In order to keep Hive up to date and provide users with the best features, we are no longer able to fully support Internet Explorer. The site is still available to you, however some sections of the site may appear broken. We would encourage you to move to a more modern browser like Firefox, Edge or Chrome in order to experience the site fully.

Dissolution, Paperback / softback Book

Dissolution Paperback / softback

Part of the The Shardlake series series

Paperback / softback


Now a major Disney+ original series'C. J. Sansom’s books are arguably the best Tudor novels going' – The Sunday TimesDissolution is the first novel in C.

J. Sansom’s phenomenal bestselling Shardlake series, perfect for fans of Hilary Mantel and Phillipa Gregory.

After one of Cromwell's commissioners is brutally murdered, Matthew Shardlake is drawn into an investigation that becomes darker than he could have ever imagined . . . England, 1537. It is a time of revolution that sees the greatest changes in England since 1066.

Henry VIII has proclaimed himself Supreme Head of the Church.

The country is waking up to savage new laws, rigged trials and the greatest network of informers it has ever seen. And under the orders of Thomas Cromwell, a team of commissioners is sent throughout the country to investigate the monasteries.

There can only be one outcome: dissolution. But on the Sussex coast, at the monastery of Scarnsea, events have spiralled out of control.

Cromwell's commissioner, Robin Singleton, has been found dead, his head severed from his body.

His horrific murder accompanied by equally sinister acts of sacrilege. Matthew Shardlake, lawyer and long-time supporter of Reform, has been sent by Cromwell to uncover the truth behind the dark happenings at Scarnsea.

But Shardlake's investigation soon forces him to question everything that he hears, and everything that he intrinsically believes . . . Follow Shardlake into the dark heart of Tudor England with the next book in the series, Dark Fire.


Other Formats

Save 7%



Free Home Delivery

on all orders

Pick up orders

from local bookshops


Also in the The Shardlake series series  |  View all