logo
Supporting your high street Find out how »
Basket Image

Basket

Queenie : British Book Awards Book of the Year, EPUB eBook

Queenie : British Book Awards Book of the Year EPUB

Please note: eBooks can only be purchased with a UK issued credit card and all our eBooks (ePub and PDF) are DRM protected.

Description

THE SUNDAY TIMES BESTSELLER



SHORTLISTED FOR THE COSTA FIRST NOVEL AWARD



LONGLISTED FOR THE WOMEN'S PRIZE FOR FICTION



'Hilarious, compelling, painful, enlightening, honest. I loved it' - Dolly Alderton

'Brilliant, timely, funny, heartbreaking' - Jojo Moyes

'A deliciously funny, characterful, topical and thrilling novel for our times' - Bernardine Evaristo, WINNER OF THE MAN BOOKER PRIZE

Meet Queenie.

She just can't cut a break. Well, apart from one from her long term boyfriend, Tom. That's just a break though. Definitely not a break up. Stuck between a boss who doesn't seem to see her, a family who don't seem to listen (if it's not Jesus or water rates, they're not interested), and trying to fit in two worlds that don't really understand her, it's no wonder she's struggling.

She was named to be queen of everything. So why is she finding it so hard to rule her own life?

A darkly comic and bitingly subversive take on life, love, race and family, Queenie will have you nodding in recognition, crying in solidarity and rooting for this unforgettable character every step of the way.

Perfect for fans of Dolly Alderton, Sally Rooney, Diana Evans and Phoebe Waller-Bridge.

'This is an important, timely and disarming novel, thirst-quenching and long overdue: one that will be treasured by "any type of black girl" and hordes of other readers besides.' - Guardian

******

LONGLISTED FOR THE JHALAK PRIZE

SHORTLISTED FOR WATERSTONES BOOK OF THE YEAR

SHORTLISTED FOR FOYLES BOOK OF THE YEAR

BLACKWELL'S DEBUT NOVEL OF THE YEAR

NAMED ONE OF THE TIMES, GUARDIAN, SUNDAY TIMES, DAILY MAIL AND EVENING STANDARD'S BEST BOOKS OF 2019

Information

£4.99

Available to Download