Silent Souls and Other Stories, Paperback / softback Book

Silent Souls and Other Stories Paperback / softback

Edited by Kathleen McNerney

Part of the Texts and Translations series

Description

Caterina Albert i Paradis (1869-1966) began her career with a scandal.

Her dramatic monologue ""The Infanticide,"" delivered by a young woman, won prizes and garnered the attention of the Catalan literary world, but its harsh theme drew outrage when the anonymous author was revealed to be a woman.

In the tradition of George Eliot, George Sand, and other controversial women authors, Albert had assumed a man's name, Victor Catala.

She continued to write unflinching narratives, mostly in Catalan, of the people and life around her, producing a body of work still enlisted today to help the Catalan language resist the dominance of Peninsular Spanish.

Information

  • Format: Paperback / softback
  • Pages: 255 pages
  • Publisher: Modern Language Association of America
  • Publication Date:
  • Category: Literature: history & criticism
  • ISBN: 9781603290425

£14.50

 
Free Home Delivery

on all orders

 
Pick up orders

from local bookshops

Also by Caterina Albert

Also in the Texts and Translations series   |  View all