Please note: In order to keep Hive up to date and provide users with the best features, we are no longer able to fully support Internet Explorer. The site is still available to you, however some sections of the site may appear broken. We would encourage you to move to a more modern browser like Firefox, Edge or Chrome in order to experience the site fully.

The Black Ascot, Paperback / softback Book

The Black Ascot Paperback / softback

Part of the Inspector Ian Rutledge Mysteries series

Paperback / softback


Scotland Yard's Ian Rutledge seeks a killer who has eluded Scotland Yard for years in this next installment of the acclaimed New York Times bestselling series. An astonishing tip from a grateful ex-convict seems implausible-but Inspector Ian Rutledge is intrigued and brings it to his superior at Scotland Yard.

Alan Barrington, who has evaded capture for ten years, is the suspect in an appalling murder during Black Ascot, the famous 1910 royal horse race meet honoring the late King Edward VII.

His disappearance began a manhunt that consumed Britain for a decade.

Now it appears that Barrington has returned to England, giving the Yard a last chance to retrieve its reputation and see justice done.

Rutledge is put in charge of a quiet search under cover of a routine review of a cold case.

Meticulously retracing the original inquiry, Rutledge begins to know Alan Barrington well, delving into relationships and secrets that hadn't surfaced in 1910.

But is he too close to finding his man? His sanity is suddenly brought into question by a shocking turn of events.

His sister Frances, Melinda Crawford, and Dr. Fleming stand by him, but there is no greater shame than shell shock.

Questioning himself, he realizes that he cannot look back.

The only way to save his career-much less his sanity-is to find Alan Barrington and bring him to justice.

But is this elusive murderer still in England?


Other Formats



Free Home Delivery

on all orders

Pick up orders

from local bookshops


Also by Charles Todd  |  View all

Also in the Inspector Ian Rutledge Mysteries series  |  View all