logo
Supporting your high street Find out how »
Basket Image

Basket

The New Achilles, Hardback Book

The New Achilles Hardback

Part of the Commander series

Description

'Superb . . . There are few writers since Mary Renault who are better than Cameron at conjuring up a vision of ancient Greece' THE TIMESFrom 'one of the finest historical fiction writers in the world' (Ben Kane) comes a brand new series about the last great hero of ancient Greece. __________________________________Alexanor is a man who has seen too much blood.

He has left the sword behind him to become a healer in the greatest sanctuary in Greece, turning his back on war. But war has followed him to his refuge at Epidauros, and now a battle to end the freedom of Greece is all around him.

The Mediterranean superpowers of Rome, Egypt and Macedon are waging their proxy wars on Hellenic soil, turning Greek farmers into slaves and mercenaries. When wounded soldier Philopoemen is carried into his temple, Alexanor believes the man's wounds are mortal but that he is not destined to die. Because he knows Philopoemen will become Greece's champion.

Its last hero. The new Achilles. In Christian Cameron's latest historical novel the old orders of the world begin to fall apart as Rome rises to supremacy - and Greece struggles to survive.

Perfect for readers of Conn Iggulden, Ben Kane, Harry Sidebottom and Simon Turney. ______________________________WHAT THE CRITICS ARE SAYING ABOUT CHRISTIAN CAMERON:'Emotive and powerful, and very highly recommended' PARMENION BOOKS on Salamis'A storyteller at the height of his powers' HISTORICAL NOVEL SOCIETY on The Green Count'Cameron's artistry and craftsmanship offer much to recommend' THE GLOBE AND MAIL on God of War'An extraordinary and staggering achievement . . . I doubt Cameron's expertise in Greek military history can be equalled' FOR WINTER NIGHTS on God of WarWHAT READERS ARE SAYING ABOUT CHRISTIAN CAMERON:'Storytelling at its very best' Clemens'Please, pick this up and read it and enjoy it!' J'Lots of action, history, humour' Jonathan'A writer who really can write convincing historical fiction' Cambsman'Absolutely fantastic in every way' Trystan

Information

  • Format: Hardback
  • Pages: 416 pages
  • Publisher: Orion Publishing Co
  • Publication Date:
  • Category: Historical fiction
  • ISBN: 9781409176565

Other Formats

£19.99

£15.85

 
Free Home Delivery

on all orders

 
Pick up orders

from local bookshops

Also by Christian Cameron   |  View all

Also in the Commander series