Please note: In order to keep Hive up to date and provide users with the best features, we are no longer able to fully support Internet Explorer. The site is still available to you, however some sections of the site may appear broken. We would encourage you to move to a more modern browser like Firefox, Edge or Chrome in order to experience the site fully.

Same As It Ever Was : The immersive and joyful new novel from the author of Reese’s Bookclub pick THE MOST FUN WE EVER HAD, Hardback Book

Same As It Ever Was : The immersive and joyful new novel from the author of Reese’s Bookclub pick THE MOST FUN WE EVER HAD Hardback

Hardback

Description

'Witty and insightful. A powerful exploration of marriage, motherhood, and self'BONNIE GARMUS, author of LESSONS IN CHEMISTRY''It was such a pleasure to bury myself in this book, a literary novel of family life which moved and surprised me.

You read on ravenously'CLARE CHAMBERS, author of SMALL PLEASURESThe author of THE MOST FUN WE EVER HAD returns with a brilliantly observed family drama, in which a long marriage faces imminent derailment from events both past and present At fifty-seven, Julia Ames has found herself with an improbably lovely life.

Despite her inclination towards self-sabotage, she has a husband she loves, two happy children and a quiet, contented existence in the suburbs. But, out of the blue, things begin to change. Her always well-behaved son, Ben, is acting strangely, and will soon make a shocking announcement. Her beloved but belligerent teenage daughter is about to depart for college, leaving Julia unexpectedly terrified of an empty nest. And, in the local grocery store, Julia encounters a woman she hasn't seen for 20 years - a woman whose friendship was once both her lifeline and, very nearly, her downfall. Consumed with her checkered past and the chaos of her present, Julia starts to spin out of control, at risk of destroying all she most loves. Following Julia over the course of a few tumultuous months, bookended by a birthday party and a wedding, and examining the fifty-plus years before, Same as It Ever Was examines the complete and complicated trajectory of one woman's life and asks what it takes to make - and to not break - a family. PRAISE FOR CLAIRE LOMBARDO: 'A literary love child of Jonathan Franzen and Anne Tyler' GUARDIAN'Lombardo juggles a huge cast of characters with seeming effortlessness, bringing each to life with humour, vividness and acute psychological insight' MADELINE MILLER, author of SONG OF ACHILLES'Lombardo has a wry, often spiky humour and tightly written style that should appeal to fans of Maria Semple, Emma Straub and Jennifer Egan' SUNDAY TIMES

Information

Save 16%

£20.00

£16.65

 
Free Home Delivery

on all orders

 
Pick up orders

from local bookshops

Information