Please note: In order to keep Hive up to date and provide users with the best features, we are no longer able to fully support Internet Explorer. The site is still available to you, however some sections of the site may appear broken. We would encourage you to move to a more modern browser like Firefox, Edge or Chrome in order to experience the site fully.

Home Fires and Spitfires, Paperback / softback Book

Home Fires and Spitfires Paperback / softback

Part of the Wartime Midwives Series series

Paperback / softback

Description

The heartwarming and moving story of three fascinating women finding their strength in World War II, perfect for fans of Katie Flynn, Call the Midwife and Downton AbbeyIt is June 1940, and as the bombs fall, the women at home must dig deep . . . _______Tucked on the edge of the Lake District lies Mary Vale, a Mother and Baby Home open to unmarried women and their children.

But tensions arise when three very different mums-to-be walk through the doors. Plucky shipyard worker Gracie must overcome her shame when her lover turns out to be married.

Newly engaged Diana's fiance tragically goes missing in action days before the wedding, while isolated and bedraggled Zelda turns heads when she arrives from the ghettos of Germany. At Mary Vale, unity is key as the bombs keep falling. But can these very different women put their differences aside to fight a common foe?Praise for Daisy Styles'Will tug at the heart strings of readers everywhere.

Wonderful!' Fiona Ford, author of The Liberty Girls'Well done Daisy for creating characters that are real women in the best sense.

Funny, scheming, loyal and witty, but about all, hardworking and proud.

An absolute joy to read' Kate Thompson, bestselling author of Secrets of the Home Front Girls'Truly endearing characters' Annie Murray, bestselling author of Now The War Is Over

Information

Other Formats

£6.99

£6.95

 
Free Home Delivery

on all orders

 
Pick up orders

from local bookshops

Also in the Wartime Midwives Series series   |  View all