Please note: In order to keep Hive up to date and provide users with the best features, we are no longer able to fully support Internet Explorer. The site is still available to you, however some sections of the site may appear broken. We would encourage you to move to a more modern browser like Firefox, Edge or Chrome in order to experience the site fully.

Empire of Iron : An ancient Roman adventure of intrigue and violence, Paperback / softback Book

Empire of Iron : An ancient Roman adventure of intrigue and violence Paperback / softback

Part of the The Vesta Shadows series series

Paperback / softback

Description

Rome is a tinderbox, all it needs is a spark.18 BC.

Pomponia, Chief Priestess of the Vestal Order, who has seen Rome through the fall of the Republic and the rise of the Empire, faces her toughest crisis yet. A ruthless enemy is manipulating her from the shadows, threatening not just Pomponia but those she cares for - including the emperor himself.

Worse, it seems that the gods are also against her. The Vestal Order is in an unparalleled crisis that she must answer for. Faced with threats from all directions, Pomponia must be willing to sacrifice everything to protect her status, the Order and the lives of those around her. In this unflinching conclusion to the Vesta Shadows trilogy, Pomponia realises that, like Rome itself, she must become even more ruthless than her enemies if she is to survive.

Perfect for fans of Kate Quinn and Stephanie Dray. The Vesta Shadows seriesThe Vesta Shadows trilogy spans decades, from 45 BCE to 14 CE.

It follows the life of the Vestal priestess Pomponia Occia, who is inspired by the real Vestal Occia who lived during this time, serving in the Temple of Vesta for more than fifty years. Set during the tumultuous years that saw the fall of the Roman Republic and the rise of the Roman Empire under Augustus - and beyond - it dramatises some of the major historical events that occurred during her lifetime while simultaneously bringing ancient Rome to life with fast-paced, engrossing and visceral storylines played out by a striking cast of characters.

Information

Other Formats

£9.99

£8.05

 
Free Home Delivery

on all orders

 
Pick up orders

from local bookshops

Information

Also by Debra May Macleod  |  View all

Also in the The Vesta Shadows series series  |  View all