Please note: In order to keep Hive up to date and provide users with the best features, we are no longer able to fully support Internet Explorer. The site is still available to you, however some sections of the site may appear broken. We would encourage you to move to a more modern browser like Firefox, Edge or Chrome in order to experience the site fully.

Take My Hand : The inspiring and unforgettable new novel from the New York Times bestseller, Hardback Book

Take My Hand : The inspiring and unforgettable new novel from the New York Times bestseller Hardback

Hardback

Description

'Unforgettable' Celeste Ng'One hell of a book' Stylist'Heartbreaking and utterly immersive' Kirsty Capes'Deeply moving' AJ Pearce'Wonderful' Cathy Rentzenbrink'Magnificent' Bonnie Garmus'Brims with hope' Elle'Storytelling at its finest' Glamour----------------HISTORY REPEATS WHAT WE DON'T REMEMBER . . . Montgomery, Alabama. 1973. Fresh out of nursing school, Civil Townsend has big plans to make a difference in her community.

At the Montgomery Family Planning Clinic, she intends to help women make their own choices for their lives and bodies. But when her first week on the job takes her down a dusty country road to a tumbledown cabin, she's surprised to find that her new patients are just eleven and thirteen years old.

Neither of the Williams sisters has even kissed a boy, but they are poor and Black, and for those handling their welfare benefits, that's reason enough to have the girls on birth control.

As Civil grapples with her new responsibilities, she takes India and Erica into her heart and comes to care for their family as though they were her own.

But one day she arrives at their door to discover the unthinkable has happened, and nothing will ever be the same. Inspired by true events and a shocking chapter of American history, Take My Hand is a novel that will open your eyes and break your heart.

An unforgettable story about love and courage, sisterhood and solidarity, it is also a timely and hopeful reminder that it only takes one person to change the world. ----------------Readers have been captivated by TAKE MY HAND too:***** 'Incredibly powerful, moving and heartbreaking' ***** 'Realistic historical fiction at its best'***** 'Fans of The Colour Purple, The Help, Where Crawdads Sing and To Kill A Mockingbird will love this'***** 'Stunning, shocking, absolutely fantastic novel . . . I could not put this down!'***** 'Definitely a must-read.

So, so moving. Can't recommend highly enough'

Information

Other Formats

£14.99

£12.59

 
Free Home Delivery

on all orders

 
Pick up orders

from local bookshops

Information

Also by DOLEN PERKINS-VALDEZ