Please note: In order to keep Hive up to date and provide users with the best features, we are no longer able to fully support Internet Explorer. The site is still available to you, however some sections of the site may appear broken. We would encourage you to move to a more modern browser like Firefox, Edge or Chrome in order to experience the site fully.

The Music of Bees : A heartwarming and redemptive story about the families we choose for ourselves, Hardback Book

The Music of Bees : A heartwarming and redemptive story about the families we choose for ourselves Hardback

Hardback

Description

Set in the gorgeous, sprawling countryside of the Pacific Northwest, Eileen Garvin's THE MUSIC OF BEES is about finding friendship in the most unlikely of places, and the families we choose for ourselves.

Heart-warming, inspirational and redemptive, it is perfect for fans of THE LANGUAGE OF FLOWERS and Rachel Joyce. 'It's simultaneously heart-breaking and uplifting, and I loved it' Abi Dare, New York Times bestselling author of The Girl with the Louding Voice'This heart-warming, uplifting story will make you want to call your own friends, not to mention grab some honey' Good Housekeeping* A Good Housekeeping Book Club Pick * Named a Most Anticipated Book of 2021 by BookRiot and the New York Post *After the sudden death of her husband, Alice Holtzman finds herself a social outsider.

Reclusive, middle-aged, childless, and with only 850,000 honeybees for company. On the other side of town, Jake Stevenson and his enormous black mohawk had a bright future in front of them studying music, all until an accident at a high school party leaves him in a wheelchair. So when Alice nearly crashes her pick-up truck, packed with thousands of restless honeybees, into Jake, the last thing she expects from the near-miss is to find that Jake has a gift: not only is he a natural with bees, but he can hear their buzzing as a form of music. . . And when Harry, a twenty-four-year-old with debilitating social anxiety, also arrives at the farm looking for work, unexpected friendships begin to blossom. As these new friends begin to heal one another, all seems right with their world - until the buzzing stops.

With a pesticide company threatening the local honeybee population, and everything they have worked for, this trio must unite to defend their bees. Praise for The Music of Bees. . . 'Genuinely touching'Publishers Weekly'A hopeful, heart-warming, uplifting story about the power of chosen family'Laurie Frankel, New York Times bestselling author of This Is How It Always Is'An exquisite debut'People Magazine 'A special treat for nature lovers, The Music of Bees is full of warmth and hope and decency'Rebecca Hardiman, author of Good Eggs'The Music of Bees is an enchanting book of belonging, overcoming adversity and the journey to find a hive of one's own'Kira Jane Buxton, author of Hollow Kingdom'The Music of Bees sings!'Adriana Trigiani'A delightful book!'Netgalley Reviewer, 5 stars

Information

Other Formats

Save 27%

£18.99

£13.79

 
Free Home Delivery

on all orders

 
Pick up orders

from local bookshops

Also by Eileen Garvin