Please note: In order to keep Hive up to date and provide users with the best features, we are no longer able to fully support Internet Explorer. The site is still available to you, however some sections of the site may appear broken. We would encourage you to move to a more modern browser like Firefox, Edge or Chrome in order to experience the site fully.

A Lesson Before Dying, Paperback / softback Book

A Lesson Before Dying Paperback / softback

Part of the Serpent's Tail Classics series

Paperback / softback

Description

An Oprah Book Club selectionWinner of the National Book Critics Circle Award for FictionNominated for a Pulitzer PrizeIn a small Cajun community in the late 1940s, a young black man named Jefferson witnesses a liquor store shootout in which three men are killed.

The only survivor, he is convicted of murder and sentenced to death. Gaines explores the deep prejudice of the American South in the tradition of Harper Lee's To Kill A Mockingbird and Toni Morrison's Beloved.

A Lesson Before Dying is a richly compassionate and deeply moving novel, the story of a young black man sentenced to death for a murder he did not commit, and a teacher who hopes to ease his burden before the execution.

Information

Other Formats

£9.99

£8.25

 
Free Home Delivery

on all orders

 
Pick up orders

from local bookshops

Information

Also in the Serpent's Tail Classics series  |  View all