Because it is My Blood, Paperback Book
4.5 out of 5 (2 ratings)


Freed from jail, Anya hopes that things will get back to normal.

But life on the outside is even more dangerous than life behind bars.

Some of her gangland family want revenge for the crime for which she has done time: the shooting of her uncle.

Forced to flee the country, Anya hides out in a cacao plantation in Mexico.

There she learns the secrets of the chocolate trade, a trade that is illegal and deadly in her native New York.

There too she discovers that seemingly random acts of violence carried out across the world have a single target: her family.

As innocent bystanders get caught in the crossfire Anya must act fast and decisively to stop it, no matter what the danger to herself.


  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 368 pages
  • Publisher: Pan Macmillan
  • Publication Date:
  • Category: Family
  • ISBN: 9780330537902

Other Formats



Free Home Delivery

on all orders

Pick up orders

from local bookshops


Showing 1 - 2 of 2 reviews.

Review by

Anya is released from Liberty at the beginning of the second story in this series, but election worries have her friend Win's father sending her back. A daring escape, set up by her lawyers and chocolate 'family' member Yuji Ono send Anya south for much of the story, bringing a certain amount of history and different look as to how and why chocolate has even become illegal. I have to hand it to Zevin, the futuristic world of 2083 that she has created in this series rings just true enough to keep me reading faster and faster to find out more about Anya's story.

Review by

Set in 2083, New York, Anya is determined to turn her life around upon her release from reform school. Anya's family runs an illegal chocolate business - a business that has filled her life with violence and betrayal. Anya has some choices a head of her: whether to follow her father in the family business, how to keep her family safe, and ultimately who to trust. This is Zevin's second book in the series.

Also in the Birthright Trilogy series