Ice Forged : Book 1 of the Ascendant Kingdoms Saga, Paperback Book

Ice Forged : Book 1 of the Ascendant Kingdoms Saga Paperback

Part of the Ascendant Kingdoms series

3.5 out of 5 (2 ratings)


FROM THE RUINS, A HERO WILL RISECondemned as a murderer for killing the man who dishonored his sister, Blaine McFadden has been banished for years to a penal colony in the frigid northern wastelands of Edgeland.

Military discipline and the oppressive magic of the governor's mages keep a fragile peace, as colonists struggle to survive in the harshest of conditions.

But now the supply ships have stopped coming, and this bodes ill for the kingdom that banished the colonists . . .McFadden and the other exiles must decide their fate.

They can remain in their icy prison, or they can return to the ruins of the kingdom that they once called home. Either way, destruction lies ahead . . .


  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 592 pages
  • Publisher: Little, Brown Book Group
  • Publication Date:
  • Category: Fantasy
  • ISBN: 9781841499154

Other Formats



Free Home Delivery

on all orders

Pick up orders

from local bookshops


Showing 1 - 2 of 2 reviews.

Review by

An interesting premise, well-executed without regard for genres or expectations. I found the story itself entirely entertaining, but it did seem to take a long time to get not very far. As this book is the first of a new series, final judgment should be reserved. My free copy was courtesy of the author and

Review by

I really did enjoy this story of an exiled noble who gathers a group around him who fight to restore the balance of magic when it goes wrong. It's an interesting read and I liked the characters. I also like how they survived in the frozen wastes they were exiled to and had created a community of their own. It does resemble a group of role-players with different roles to play in the story and with different skills but for me it was done well. Shortly after reading book 1 I went out and bought books 2 and three.

Also by Gail Z. Martin   |  View all

Also in the Ascendant Kingdoms series   |  View all